Lemon Bundt Cake

This recipe is from Curly Girl Kitchen. This cake came out great – soft, tender, and delicious. It took a long time, but I will definitely make it again and perhaps I will be more efficient.

IMG_1418

I started with lemon zest and sugar in my stand mixer bowl.

IMG_1396

I used my fingers to rub the lemon zest into the sugar until it was fragrant and wet.

IMG_1397

Then I added the softened butter and cream cheese.

IMG_1398

And I mixed that into the sugar mixture.

IMG_1399

I cracked the eggs into a measuring cup to make sure that it came to 8 fluid ounces.

IMG_1400

I added the eggs one at a time to the stand mixer while it was running on medium.

IMG_1401

Then I added the vanilla extract.

IMG_1402

Next I sifted the cake flour and baking powder into a large bowl and added the salt.

IMG_1403

Then I measured out lemon juice and milk.

IMG_1405

I added the lemon juice to the milk. This appeared to be an intentional curdling.

IMG_1404

I added the milk mixture and the flour mixture to the stand mixer alternating and in three additions each while the mixer was running.

IMG_1408

The recipe called for a 12 cup bundt pan so I got the 75th anniversary bundt from my local kitchen shop.

IMG_1344

I poured the batter into the prepared bundt pan.

IMG_1409

I baked the cake for almost an hour.

IMG_1414

After cooling for 10 minutes, I tipped the pan over to release the cake.

IMG_1416

While it was cooling, I prepared the lemon sugar topping. I melted some butter.

IMG_1417

I added some lemon zest and sugar to a small bowl.

IMG_1410

I used my fingers to rub the lemon zest into the sugar.

IMG_1411

I used a pastry brush to brush the melted butter on the top and sides of the cake. And then rubbed the lemon sugar on the top and sides.

IMG_1418

The lemon flavor was nicely distributed throughout the cake and the topping added some extra burst of lemon.

IMG_1419

Leave a comment